Forgiveness Rock Record [CD]


Digipak Release

01. Chase Scene
02. Texico Bitches
03. Forced To Love
04. All To All
05. Art House Director
06. Highway Slipper Jam
07. Ungrateful Little Father
08. Meet Me In The Basement
09. Sentimental X's
10. Sweetest Kill
11. Romance To The Grave
12. Water In Hell
13. Me And My Hand
14. World Sick 

Assembled by Drew, and made up of an assortment of musical friends, lovers, and strangers, Broken Social Scene emerged fully-formed from their hometown of Toronto in 2002. They were an instantly engaging energetic entity: a tightly-knit community bursting at the seams with talent, personalities, songs and many, many guitars. Their albums – which were recently regaled on many “Best of the Decade” lists for the 00’s – were cinematic, critically-acclaimed splashes of concept and melody, marrying a dizzying onslaught of sounds with finely-crafted choruses.

With their new album, the first Broken Social Scene record following the acclaimed Broken Social Scene Presents… series, Broken Social Scene decided it was time to try something new. As a core six-piece who had spent most of 2007 and 2008 on the road, Drew, Canning, Spearin, Whiteman, Goldberg and Peroff spent early 2009 working on new material in Toronto. The pairing down of the band’s massive personnel list for the first time proved extremely fruitful; they created spacious songs written as a band by a band, resulting in more cohesive, melody-driven compositions than previous BSS output. They then decamped to Chicago, recording outside of Toronto for the first time, which allowed them to fully immerse themselves in the recording process. In producer John McEntire – a musical hero for many of the band’s members – they found a fresh perspective on their own sound; this continued to fuel the creative process, resulting in nearly 40 songs written in and out of the studio, a number of which were put together as the first new Broken Social Scene record in five years.